My child is going to grow up to be a… headbanger??!!

Standard

Baby L is going to grow up to be a head banger!

He bangs his head on everything…the wood floor, the couch, the highchair tray, his toys, and yes, even me. It started about a month ago and at first I thought nothing of it. I decided to ignore it and figured he would stop. I was wrong. It continues.

I started googling, “baby head banging,” and discovered that it is actually quite common with babies this age and even more common with boys. Figures.

I tried to figure out the reason behind his self-inflicted pain. Maybe he is tired and this is his way of telling me? Maybe he is frustrated with a toy or something is out of reach?  I started to see a a pattern developing. He did head bang more often in the evening- maybe because he was overstimulated throughout the day and overtired? Well, at least that is what I thought for about two days-until- for the past few days, he seems to be head banging all the time, all day, and for no apparent reason. I just don’t get it.

I guess I shouldn’t have let my hubby convince me to go to that rock concert when I was 6 months pregnant…yeah, that’s what I will blame this on… 🙂

If he does it for attention- he gets it. I try to ignore it, but when he bangs his head on the wood floor to the point of making himself cry and leaving red marks on his forehead, I have no choice but to pick him up. I do try and immediately redirect his attention to a book or a toy. The pediatrician, at his one year checkup, said it is common and there isn’t much you can do, but to let them outgrow it.

Seriously kid, can we outgrow this soon, like soon as in this week?!

I guess this is what Santa is bringing you this year….

Leave a Reply

