In Search for the “Perfect” Sippy Cup!

Standard

Baby L has been 100% off bottles for three days now. I started introducing him to whole milk a week or two before he turned one. When he turned one, I wanted to be done with the whole buying formula thing and I wanted to be done with the bottles.

I definitely did not want my kid to be that 3 year old still needing a bottle…Poor Suri Cruise.

http://articles.nydailynews.com/2010-04-10/gossip/27061381_1_baby-bottle-suri-cruise-sippy

The transition to whole milk was simple enough. Baby L hasn’t had any issues with new foods or liquids.  Honestly, he would probably eat or drink anything put in front of him.  The transition to only sippy cups hasn’t been difficult, but isn’t smooth sailing quite yet.

I’m pretty sure I have bought every sippy cup on the store shelf- trying to find the “perfect” cup. There are sooo many to choose from.

This is a snapshot of my “sippy cup cabinet” at this time. And, I’m pretty sure there are some in the dishwasher too!

Babies sure are picky when it comes to their drinkware.

I have quickly learned that Baby L does not want to be burdened with having to lift his hands higher than shoulder-level to drink his milk.

Any sippy cup that needs to be lifted and tilted is out of the question.

I only have about 3 or 4 of the above featured sippy cup…money down the drain. The only way Baby L will use this is if I am sitting there holding and tilting it for him. Otherwise, it becomes just another toy to be chucked across the room.

Baby L has decided he prefers to drink from a straw, which I am actually very happy about. According to the article below, cups and cups with straws are preferred over the typical “sippy” cup. Using a sippy cup for a prolonged period of time can result in lisps and other speech difficulties. I guess then I’m not too upset over those four or five cups barely used, collecting dust in the cabinet…

http://children.webmd.com/news/20080212/so-long-sippy-cups-hello-straws

Okay, so I bought a bunch of different sippy cups that all have some sort of straw. And again, he has to be picky. Apparently, some of the straws are more challenging than others. It is true. My husband and I had a difficult time trying to drink from some. And yes, we did try.

The winner, after trying four or five, ended up being….the Playtex Lil Gripper.

Baby L loves this cup and has had no difficulty using it. I am slowly building my collection. I usually buy them at Walmart or Target. They are about 5 bucks a piece…figures my kid wants the expensive sippy cup.

The only downside to this particular cup is that it occasionally leaks. Yes, I know every cup advertises “spill proof” or “leak-free.” All us moms know that is not true. In this cup, liquid seems to remain in the straw and if the cup is lifted upside down or thrown on the floor, everyday occurence in my house, the stored up liquid will leak onto the floor. Minor details though.

My kid is drinking his milk three times a day all by himself. That is what matters.

Just a little laugh…

P.S. Let me know your “sippy cup” experience. Any other sippy cups out there I should try or you recommend for a straw loving baby?

4 responses »

  1. My son will drink EVERYTHING under the sun out of his sippy cup, except milk or formula! I don’t get it. I offer him juice or water or a yogurt drink and he’s fine. He will only drink his milk out of a bottle. Maybe he associates milk with the breast? Congrats on finding the perfect cup:)

    • My son wasn’t a huge fan of the sippy cup when I was still breast-feeding. When he was around nine months though, he straight up pushed my boob away and from then on out we did bottles and sippy cups. He probably does associate milk with breast, may just take time.

Leave a Reply

